2015 Favorites

2015 was a pretty good reading year for me.  I ended up reading about 80 books… a big improvement on 2014!  Here are my top 10 favorite reads of 2015:

ivanhoe10.  Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott
With the exception of some excerpts in school, this was the first book of Scott’s that I’ve read. I plan on reading more from him next year!

August Folly9.  August Folly by Angela Thirkell
I discovered Angela Thirkell’s Barsetshire series this year and I love it!  This is the fourth book in the series.

For You Alone8. None But You & For You Alone by Susan Kaye
Persuasion is my favorite Jane Austen novel and I enjoyed reading some other books based on it this year.  These two books in the Frederick Wentworth, Captain series retell Persuasion from Captain Wentworth’s point of view.

miss buncle married7.  Miss Buncle Married by D.E. Stevenson
This is the second book in the Miss Buncle series and I enjoyed it every bit as much as the first book!

anatomy of evil6.  Anatomy Of Evil by Will Thomas
This is the seventh book in the Barker & Llewelyn series (two private detectives in 19th century London).  In this book they tackle the Jack the Ripper case.

The Demon In The House5. The Demon In The House by Angela Thirkell
This third book in the Barsetshire series is a collection of short stories that focus on Tony Morland.

Miklos Banffy4.  The Transylvanian Trilogy by Miklós Bánffy 
They Were Counted, They Were Found Wanting and They Were Divided follows two cousins, Balint Abady and Laszlo Gyeroffy through the historical events of the last years of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.

Young Clementina3.  The Young Clementina by D.E. Stevenson
This is one of the last books I finished this year but it easily became one of my favorites!

Archie In The Crosshairs2. Archie In The Crosshairs by Robert Goldsborough
Rex Stout is my favorite mystery author but Robert Goldsborough has done an excellent job of continuing the Nero Wolfe series.

The Broken Road1. The Broken Road by Patrick Leigh Fermor
The long-awaited and much-anticipated final book in Patrick Leigh Fermor’s trilogy.  I really looked forward to getting this one but then found I couldn’t read it right away.  I went back and re-read A Time Of Gifts and Between The Woods And The Water and then I was ready to pick up this one.  It was certainly worth the wait!

What were your favorite books in 2015?

Leave a Reply

